Schedules Results Home Pages Hall-of-Fames Main Pages


10th Annual Frank Kane Memorial
March 1-3, 2007
Hosted by Affton Elks Lodge #2635
6330 Heege Road St. Louis, MO 63123
314-481-6104 Photo Gallery
Updated Monday, March 5, 2007 7:33 PM
Submitted by Jack Murphy
Affton Elk’s Lodge #2635 was the host for the 10th Annual Frank Kane Memorial Tournament in St. Louis, Missouri, on March 1, 2, and 3, 2007. On Thursday night an ABC Tournament was held as the players partnered up and got better acquainted with each other and the shuffleboards in our new setting. The Doubles Event took place on Friday and Saturday. It was a great tournament with local teams being joined by players from Houston, Steelville, Kansas City, Stockton (MO), Indiana, and Arkansas. Thanks to all our out of town friends! 

ABC 4th Place went to Steve Sheridan (capt.), John Boyer, and John Derrenaux. Taking Third Place in the ABC was Manny Lane (capt.), Sandy Tubbs, and Rick Green. Second Place went to Jill Romay (capt.), Ernie Bullock, and Milford ‘Mel’ Sumner. First Place Honors went to the team of Mike Simpson (capt.), Ken Dahl, and Jim Schmaltz. There was a total of 45 players who showed up to play in this event and there was a lot of great shooting and fun had by all.

The Doubles Tournament took place Friday night and Saturday. Fourth Place went to Mark Gray and Rick Pittman, sponsored by Jerry Romay. Taking Third Place in this event was the team of Mike Simpson and ’Doc’ Bendickson, sponsored by Chris Tinker. Second Place Honors went to the team of Dan Kelly and Jimmy Dunn, sponsored by Manny Lane. Finally, taking First Place and the champions in the Doubles event was the team of Sandy Tubbs and Barb Head, sponsored by Mark Gray.

I would like to again thank all of our out of town friends, as well as our new and established Elks Lodge membership for all their help and participation in our first major tournament to be held at our new facility. It was a great tournament and we were all treated to some exciting games and friendly camaraderie. A note of thanks to my fellow St. Louis Shuffleboard Players Association (SLSPA) Board members, Jerry Romay, Mike Simpson, Julie Simpher, and Doug Schmaltz for all their tireless efforts in helping with this tournament. Also, thanks to Glenn and Sandy Tubbs for their assistance with our shuffleboards. Finally a very special note of thanks to all of our Elks Lodge brethren, especially Don and Eileen Seliner, Gail Eckert, Bob Martin, and Harry Marsh for the great food and also to Gregg Puleo and JoAnn Chytla for their help in the scheduling of this event.

ABC Draw - 15 Teams Handicapped Doubles - 27 Teams (Total Ranking Points)
1st Mike Simpson, Ken Dahl, Jim Schmaltz

2nd Jill Romay, Ernie Bullock, Milford Sumner
3rd Manny Lane, Sandy Tubbs, Rick Green
4th Steve Sheridan, John Boyer, John Derennaux

Larry Romay, Jim Brenner, Wayne Honer
Steve Kane, Mike Polson, Jerry Schaeffer
Jerry Romay, Barb Head, Frank Coleman
Steve Nowack, Julie Simpher, John Loechel
Chris Tinker, Pat Marshall, Rhonda Proffer
Rich Steger, Mark Polson, Diane Coleman
Robert Kasza, Alben McDonald, Mary Curtis
Glen Tubbs, Gary Eveland, Diane Varela
Chuck Muehlhauser, Doug Schmaltz, Roy Cardic
Frank Edelen, Dan Neaf, Barb Schmaltz
Steve Taylor, Bob Duer, Zella Edgmond

1st - Sandy Tubbs (S/Mark Gray) Barb Head (4.61)

2nd - Jimmy Dunn & Dan Kelly (2.71)
3rd - Mike Simpson & Craig Bendickson (3.16)
4th - Mark Gray & Rick Pittman (2.07)
5th/6th - Steve Sheridan & John Boyer (4.43)
5th/6th - Gary Hagerty & Roger Ellison (4.61)
7th/8th - Jerry Romay & Larry Romay (3.32)
7th/8th - Steve Taylor & Glen Tubbs (3.71)

Pam Bendickson & Janice Hagerty 6.05
Manny Lane & Ken Dahl 4.23
Frank Edelan & Pat Marshall 4.39
Rich Steger & Gary Eveland 4.69
Steve Kane & Chris Tinker 3.95
Jill Romay & Mikie Polson 4.13
Julie Simpher & Rhonda Proffer 5.41
Robert Kasza & Steve Nowack 4.15
Keitha Ellison & Barb Gray 5.38
Bob Duer & Alben McDonald 4.81
Ann Harrell & Doug Schmaltz 5.26
Jim Brenner & Mark Polson 4.80
Frank Coleman & John Derennaux 6.78
Mick Moran & Leon Sartain 5.33
Zella Edgmond & Diane (Ellie) Coleman 6.42
Stanely Wheeler & Bradley Wheeler 6.49
Dennis Bullock & Ernie Bullock 5.08
Julie Polson & Diane Varela 6.87
John Loechel & Roy Cardic 6.20


All rights reserved
Newsletters Shuffleboard Establishments Missouri Leagues Missouri Hall of FameMissouri Home Missouri Shuffleboard Tournament Results Missouri Schedule Home Page Contact Us