Schedules Results Home Pages Hall-of-Fames Main Pages


Michigan Hall of Fame 2006
Durand, Michigan August 4-6, 2006
Updated Saturday, August 12, 2006 11:39 PM
Event Summary
AB Draw Open Singles Open Doubles
1st Lacho Barradas & Roland Mativier
2nd Larry Brown & Travis Taylor
3rd Cindy Brown & Chris Lemieux
4th Roland Harkless & Sandy Blade
1st Bobby Voorhis
2nd Glen Ingram
3rd Rick Boyer
4th Dave Boaz
1st Glen Ingram & Jim Long
2nd Bobby Voorhis & Larry Brown
  Division II Singles Division II Doubles
1st Chris Lemieux
2nd Steve Jurik
3rd Sandy Blade
4th Carlos Capote
1st Vic Matteson & Brenda Kane
2nd Tom & Jackie Meagher
3rd Melinda Flynn & Bob Auten
By Coco Brown

A total of 60 players participated in the Michigan Hall of Fame tournament August 4 – 6 at Kane’s Club Car Lounge in Durand, Michigan. Players from far and wide gathered to play and congratulate inductees into the Michigan Hall of Fame. Inductee on Friday was Cheryl Collins and Frank Blade on Saturday.

A total of $9,100 was up for grabs as fierce competition flourished throughout the weekend.

Friday kicked off the weekend with 48 players in the AB draw. In the AB draw, first place went to Roland Metivier & Lacho “Cheese” Barradas, with second place going to Larry Brown & Travis Taylor. Third place were Chris Lemieux & Cindy Brown, and fourth place went to Sandy Blade & Roland Harkless. (No Calcutta occurred.)

On Saturday, competition continued with the Open Singles and Division II Singles. In the Open, 16 players competed with first place honors going to Bobby Voorhis (sponsored by Jerry Siebert). Second place victor was Glen Ingram (sponsored by Bobby Voorhis). Third place went to Rick Boyer (sponsored by Jimmy Kumpula), and fourth place to Dave Boaz (sponsored by Larry Brown).

A total of 18 players competed in the Division II Singles event. Chris Lemieux went undefeated taking first place (sponsored by Bill Kane). Second place went to Steve Jurik (sponsored by Gene Wendling). Third place honors went to Sandy Blade (sponsored by Frank Blade), and fourth place went to Carlos Capote (sponsored by Glen Ingram).

Sunday’s events included the Open Doubles and Division II Doubles. A total of 12 players competed in the Open, with 24 players in the Division II. In the Open Doubles, the long standing team of Glen Ingram & Jim Long emerged undefeated as first place victors (sponsored by Bobby Voorhis), with second place going to Larry Brown & Bobby Voorhis.

In the Division II, first place went to the double dipping team of Vic Matteson & Brenda Kane (sponsored by Jimmy Kumpula) and second place to Tom Meagher & Jackie Meagher (sponsored by Jerry Siebert). Third place went to Bob Auten & Melinda Flynn (sponsored by Vic Matteson).

Special thanks should be extended to the following for assistance in the high success of this tournament:

· Hosts Bill and Brenda Kane and the rest of the staff at Kane’s Club Car Lounge.
· Co-Directors Cindy Brown and Deb Kern.
· Auctioneers Bill Kane and Glen Ingram.
· All who brought door prizes.
· Carolyn Perry, Gene Wendling, Jessica Williams and Melinda Flynn for assistance in ticket sales.
· Brenda Kane for the organization of the food spread.
· All those who brought food spreads.
· Betty Parrish and John McDermott for plaque inscription contributions.
· Hall of Fame President Gene Wendling for the assistance in organizing this wonderful tournament.
· The many wonderful friends from Indiana for showing their support.



All rights reserved
Michigan Leagues Michigan Hall of Fame Michigan Shuffleboard Tournament Results Michigan Schedule Home Page Contact Us